By 0


Kigali, Rwanda – H.E. Dr. Agnes Kalibata, President of the Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA) will receive the Distinguished Award for Meritorious Service at the 2nd Conference of the African Plant Breeders Association (APBA) on October 26, 2021 in Kigali, Rwanda.The award, which is in recognition of Dr. Kalibata’s immense contribution to the transformation of agriculture in Africa, was approved at the 13th Meeting of the APBA Executive Committee on August 25, 2021.

“The Executive Committee of the APBA is delighted to recognize one of Africa’s illustrious daughters for her outstanding contribution to the establishment and functioning of the APBA and the development of agriculture on the continent”, said Professor Eric Danquah, President of the APBA.

The conference, themed, “Accelerating Genetic Gains in Plant Breeding for Resilience and Transformative Food Systems and Economic Growth in Africa” has attracted over 700 participants from over 62 countries.

H.E. Dr. Agnes Kalibata, H.E. Amb. Josefa Leonel Correia Sacko, Commissioner for Agriculture, Rural Development, Blue Economy and Sustainable Environment at the AUC, Dr. Barbara Wells, Global Director for Genetic Innovation, CGIAR and Hon. Dr. Gerardine Mukeshimana, Rwanda’s Minister for Agriculture and Animal Resources will deliver keynote addresses at the Opening Ceremony. There will be a high-level panel on Inclusive Transformation of Agriculture in Africa to be moderated by Dr. Robert Bertram, Chief Scientist of the Bureau of Resilience and Food Security, USAID.

Also to be recognized at a pre-opening-ceremony symposium on Plant Breeding Education in Africa are two Cornell University alumni, Dr. Ronnie Coffman and Dr. Joseph D. DeVries for their instrumental role in the development of plant breeding human capacity in Africa. Dr. Coffman is the International Professor of Plant Breeding and Director of International Programmes at the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Cornell University. Dr. DeVries is the President of Seed Systems Group.

Joseph De'vries
Ronnie Coffman